Pennsylvania Legal Window Tint4 min read
Window tinting is a popular way to customize a car, and many people choose to have it done for privacy and sun protection reasons. However, in some states, there are laws regulating the amount of tint that can be used on car windows.
Pennsylvania is one of those states. The Pennsylvania legal window tinting limit is 70% light transmission. This means that the tint on your car windows cannot block more than 70% of the light that passes through them.
There are a few exceptions to this rule. If you have a medical reason that requires you to have darker tint on your windows, you may be able to get a doctor’s note exempting you from the 70% limit. And if you are a member of a law enforcement agency or the military, you may be able to get tint that is darker than 70% light transmission.
If you choose to have your windows tinted and they exceed the 70% light transmission limit, you may be subject to a fine. So it is important to be aware of the law before you have your windows tinted.
Can I have 5% tint in PA?
Pennsylvania law does not specify a limit to the darkness of window tinting that is allowed on vehicles. However, the law does state that any window tinting applied to the vehicle must allow at least 35% of light in from the outside. So, in most cases, you will be able to have 5% tint on your windows in Pennsylvania.
Is 35 percent tint illegal in PA?
In Pennsylvania, it is illegal to have a window tint that is darker than 35 percent. This law is in place to help ensure that drivers have a clear view of the road and their surroundings.
If you are caught driving with a window tint that is darker than 35 percent, you can expect to receive a citation. The citation may carry a fine of up to $200. In addition, your car may be towed and impounded.
If you are thinking about having your car windows tinted, it is important to make sure that they are within the legal limit. To find a tint shop in your area, you can search online or in the phone book.
What percent of tint is legal in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania law does not specify a maximum window tint percentage, but does restrict the types of film that can be used. Front side windows must allow more than 35% of light in, and side and rear windows must allow more than 25% of light in.
Can you have 30 tint in PA?
Pennsylvania law does not specifically address the legality of having vehicle windows tinted to a certain degree. However, the state has general regulations limiting how dark window tint can be.
Under Pennsylvania law, front side windows must allow at least 70% of light in, and back side and rear windows must allow at least 50% of light in. If a vehicle’s windows are tinted to a degree that does not meet these requirements, the driver may be ticketed.
It is important to note that these restrictions apply only to the darkness of the tint, and not to the type of tint. So, while Pennsylvania law prohibits the use of very dark window tint, it does not prohibit the use of tint that is slightly darker than the legal limit.
As a result, it is possible to have windows tinted to a degree of 30% in Pennsylvania. However, it is important to be aware that doing so may violate state law, and that drivers who choose to have their windows tinted to this degree do so at their own risk.
Does PA have 20% tint?
Pennsylvania does not have 20% tint. In fact, Pennsylvania does not have a tint law at all.
How much is a tint ticket in PA?
In the state of Pennsylvania, it is illegal to have tinted windows that are darker than 35% light transmission. If a driver is caught with tinted windows that are darker than the legal limit, they may be ticketed.
The fines for tinted windows that are darker than the legal limit vary depending on the severity of the infraction. For a first offense, the driver may be fined $50. For a second offense, the driver may be fined $75. For a third offense, the driver may be fined $100.
It is important to note that these fines are only for tinted windows that are darker than the legal limit. If a driver has tinted windows that are within the legal limit, they will not be fined.
Will my car pass inspection with tinted windows in PA?
Pennsylvania law requires all front windshields to allow at least 70% of light to pass through, so if your tint is too dark, your car won’t pass inspection. The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website has a list of approved tint shades, and most car tint shops can tell you whether your tint is legal.